Skip to content

Matador Records

Butthole Surfers’ Catalogue Reissues Hit Shelves via Matador

Matador Records have released the first tranche of remastered key catalog titles by legendary San Antonio, Texas band The Butthole Surfers: Psychic…Powerless…Another Man’s Sac, Rembrandt Pussyhorse, and PCPPEP.

Marking the occasion, the band have unearthed and remastered an alternate version of their 1983 track ‘I Hate My Job’ with a new animated video.

In addition, the band’s Paul Leary and King Coffey appear on the latest episode of the Matador Revisionist History Podcast. In conversation with Matt Sweeney, they discuss the influence of the Meat Puppets and Run D.M.C., the Texas music scene with Dicks, Big Boys and others, early days on the road, run-ins with the fire department and much more.

Further remastered titles will follow on vinyl in autumn, including Locust Abortion Technician, Hairway to Steven, and Cream Corn from the Socket of Davis, plus EPs and other material recorded during the band’s strange, grotesque, and ultimately unparalleled first decade. All the releases are available digitally.

The Butthole Surfers were formed in 1981 by vocalist Gibby Haynes and guitarist Paul Leary. Drummer King Coffey joined in 1983. Together, they have remained the band’s three constant members across various recording sessions and touring incarnations.