Skip to content

New Release Roundup – The Smile, Future Islands, Gruff Rhys

Today, January 26th, we have the pleasure of ushering 3 fantastic records into your speakers.

Starting with U.K. supergroup (or “Radiohead offshoot”), The Smile, made up of Jonny Greenwood, Thom Yorke, and Tom Skinner. Their brand new sophomore record, Wall Of Eyes, released today by XL Recordings, has already been heralded as “…some of the best music Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood have made in years.” (Independent – 5/5), and Greenwood’s “…most exciting and volatile performance since In Rainbows” (Pitchfork – 8.5/10 – BNM). But don’t take it from us…

“Read The Room” – Taken from The Smile’s Wall of Eyes

On the other side of the pond In Baltimore, Maryland, 4-piece indie mainstay Future Islands are celebrating the release of their brand new full-length People Who Aren’t There Anymore arriving via 4AD. Where they’ve pursued ever-higher energy anthems in the past, they’ve turned inward this time and unlocked a new level of ferocity, delivering some of their most inspiring and most heartbreaking tracks by doing the opposite: taking their time, making each breath, each syllable, each cymbal crash count. Its an “often excellent effort containing at least a couple outstanding moments that see Future Islands really crystallize as its best self.” (Exclaim – 8/10). Watch the band perform “The Tower” live on Letterman:

Live rendition of “The Tower” from Future Islands brand new record

Jumping back over to the U.K. we have a new solo record from former Super Furry Animals frontman, Gruff Rhys. Sadness Sets Me Free, the 10 track follow up to 2021’s Seeking new Gods (his first UK top 10 solo record), is incredibly the 25th album he has released in his 35 year career individually, collaboratively and as a member of various bands. The record “…proves that he can still weave a magical tapestry of melodic psych-pop.” (Louder Than War – 8/10). Listen to lead track, “They Sold My Home To Build A Skyscraper”, Below: